Shel Silverstein's Books

Shel Silverstein is best known as a children's author. His three volumes of poetry have sold at least 14 million copies by themselves, and The Giving Tree, published in 1964, is an enduring children's classic--albeit a very controversial one. Many webpages deal with the children's books, so I will not be covering the same ground here.

Not all of Silverstein's published works are for children. Most notably, his 1979 coffee-table book Different Dances (HarperCollins) is a collection of cartoons previously published in Playboy magazine, and they deal with many common adult trials and tribulations in a satirical fashion. If you want to find out more about it, or any other of Silverstein's adult-themed books, please visit Carol's Banned Width. For anyone that was wondering, my personal favorite of Silverstein's books is Uncle Shelby's ABZ: A Primer for Tender Young Minds (1961)

I present here a bibliography of all of Silverstein's published books. The ones that are linked will take you to articles and reviews culled from various places, usually the New York Times Book Review. Some of the links, however, provide great detail about the book in question because there wasn't a review available.

The Books

Take Ten (1955)
Grab Your Socks!(1956)--a paperback version of "Take Ten"
Report From Practically Nowhere: illustrated by Shel Silverstein Now Here's My Plan: A Book of Futilities (1960)
Uncle Shelby's ABZ Book: A Primer for Tender Young Minds (1961)
Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back (1963)
A Playboy's Teevie Jeebies (1963)
A Giraffe and a Half (1964)
The Giving Tree (1964)
Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros? (1964, later revised in 1983)
Uncle Shelby's Zoo: Don't Bump the Glump! (1964)
More Playboy's Teevie Jeebies: Do-It-Yourself Dialogue for the Late Late Show (1965)
Where the Sidewalk Ends (1974)
The Missing Piece (1976)
Different Dances (1979)
A Light in the Attic (1981)
The Missing Piece Meets the Big O (1981)
Falling Up (1996)